Connect with us

Did you know that?

Top 48 World Football Legends



Who are the World Football greatest? This is the question that always sparks a petulant level-headed debate among football fans. Given the regularly changing nature of the game, it’s maybe an unanswerable question.

How would one compare a player from the time of the pigskin ball, half-time oranges and lawful backpass with the exceedingly trained, physically advanced and multi-millionaires of the modern football? Worry not and let give commendation to IFFHS for compiling the best 48 football legends.

Football analyst, International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS), has published on its official site the 48World football legends ever to grace the beautiful game.

Out of the 48 World football legends picked by IFFHS, only a single Nigerian, former Iwanyanwu Nationale, Ajax  Amsterdam, and Arsenal striker Nwankwo Kanu, made the lofty list.

Other acclaimed football legends are Zinedine Zidane (France), Gerd Muller (Germany), Roberto Baggio (Italy), George Weah (Liberia) and Ruud Gullit (Netherlands). Diego Maradona (Argentina), Pele (Brazil), Ronaldo (Brazil), Roger Milla (Cameroon)

The Nigerian international, who is the only Nigerian to win the African Player of the Year award twice when he scooped the award in 1997 and 1999

The former Portsmouth forward is the most decorated African player, after Nigeria win the 1993 Fifa U17 World Cup and 1996 Olympic gold medal in football, and also won the Champions League with Ajax Amsterdam in 1995, UEFA Cup with Inter Milan in 1998, three Eredivisie titles, two Premier League titles and the FA Cup three times.

Alfredo Stéfano Di Stéfano (Spain)

Diego Maradona (Argentina)

Pele (Brazil)

Manuel Francisco dos Santos (Brazil)

Ronaldo de Lima (Brazil)

Zico (Brazil)

Roger Milla (Cameroon)

READ ALSO: Top Ten Football Dribblers Of All Time

Hao Haidong (China)

Sun Jihai (China)

Rabah Madjer (Algeria)
Mahmoud El-Khatib (Egypt)
Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)
Michel Platini (France)
Zinedine Zidane (France)
Franz Anton Beckenbauer (Germany)
Gerd Muller (Germany)
Lothar Matthaus (Germany)
Ferenc Puskas (Hungary)
Baichung Bhutia (India)
Ali Daei (Iran)
Dino Zoff (Italy)
Roberto Baggio (Italy)
Hidetoshi Nakata (Japan)
Cha Bum-kun (South Korea)
Jasem Yaqoub Sultan Al-Besara (Kuwait)
George Weah (Liberia)
Antonio Carbajal (Mexico)
Hugo Sánchez (Mexico)
Hendrik Johannes Cruijff (Netherlands)
Marco Van Basten (Netherlands)
Ruud Gullit (Netherlands)
Wynton Alan Whai Rufer (New Zealand)
Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)
José Luis Félix Chilavert González (Paraguay)
Eusébio (Portugal)
Luis Figo (Portugal)
Lev Ivanovich Yashin (Soviet Union)
Majed Ahmed Abdullah (Saudi Arabia)
Francisco Gento (Spain)
Tanju çolak (Turkey)
Oleh Volodymyrovych Blokhin (Ukraine)
Bobby Charlton (England)
David Beckham (England)
Stanley Matthews (England)
Juan Alberto Schiaffino (Uruguay)
Landon Timothy Donovan (USA)
Lucas Radebe (South Africa)
Ryan Giggs (Wales)

(Visited 74 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: