NPFL: Six Of The Best Seek Continental Places, League Glory – CheapGoals
Connect with us


NPFL: Six Of The Best Seek Continental Places, League Glory



After 22 round of matches, the 2018/2019 regular season comes to an end after series of unending actions and drama. For all involved, it was a season that had it all, the goals, the ups, and the downs, the cherished away wins and certainly, the uncertainty that follows each match day, unarguably it is the most difficult season any of the 24 teams involved have played.

Although the abridged format allows teams to play a lesser number of games and travel less distance compared to previous, it did came at a price of having 8 teams relegated at the end of the campaign after the league retained all its team from last season including 4 more teams from the Nigeria National League.

Remo Stars and Yobe Desert Stars were poor all season long and as such dropped back into the lower league after amassing 20 and 15 points total respectively. Niger Tornadoes, Gombe United, Bendel Insurance, Kwara United, Go Round, and El Kanemi Warriors followed suit.

At the other end of things, the top 3 teams from Group A and B will battle for three CAF Competition places and more importantly the NPFL crown. Nigeria’s 4 spots on the continent were restored this season after the impressive runs of Lobi Stars and Enugu Rangers to the group stages of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederations Cup.

Interestingly, both teams made the top three play-off places in group A and could likely feature on the continent for the second season running, they would be joined by Enyimba FC from Group A while Akwa United, Kano Pillars, and FC Ifeanyi Ubah will also bring in more competition after finishing in the top three places in Group B.

All the six teams will now head to the Soccer Temple, Agege Lagos where the NPFL super 6 will hold starting from the 4th of June. The competition will be played in a league format while the top 3 teams will qualify for the CAF competitions while the 4th CAF spot will be picked by the Aiteo Cup winners.

On Tuesday, May 28, the League Management Company released it’s schedule of fixtures for the games even as there are hopes of securing TV rights for the competition. Three games will be played per day with two of them to be played under floodlights. Below is the schedule of the fixture


Matchday 1: 04/06/2019

  • Enyimba FC vs Rangers Internationals – 3 pm
  • Kano Pillars vs Akwa United – 5 pm
  • FC Ifeanyi Ubah vs Lobi Stars – 7 pm

Matchday 2: 06/06/2019

  • Akwa United vs FC Ifeanyi Ubah – 3 pm
  • Rangers Int’l vs Lobi Stars – 5 pm
  • Kano Pillars vs Enyimba – 7 pm

Matchday 3: 07/06/2019

  • Kano Pillars vs FC Ifeanyi Ubah – 3 pm
  • Lobi Stars vs Enyimba FC – 5 pm
  • Akwa United vs Rangers Int’l – 7 pm

Matchday 4: 10/06/2019

  • Rangers Int’l vs Kano Pillars – 3 pm
  • Akwa United vs Lobi Stars – 5 pm
  • Enyimba FC vs FC Ifeanyi Ubah -7 pm

Matchday 5: 12/06/2019

  • FC Ifeanyi Ubah vs Rangers Int’l. – 3 pm
  • Enyimba FC vs Akwa United -5 pm
  • Lobi Stars vs Kano Pillars -7 pm




(Visited 131 times, 1 visits today)

Daniel is a passionate lover of Nigerian football. Follows local football and the national teams religiously. Aside from writing, he also does Sports analysis on Radio. Write to me on danycrusoe@gmail.com or follow me on twitter@danycrusoe95

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: