New African King Will Emerge Today – CheapGoals
Connect with us


New African King Will Emerge Today



The 2016 edition of the Glo-caf award holds today as the new king of African football would be crowned at the International conference centre, Abuja.

Gabonese attacking midfielder Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Senegalese midfielder Sadio Mane and Algeria and Leicester City winger made the final cut.

Following votes from Technical committees, coaches from various countries, media committee and a panel of experts.

From 1992 till date 24 players have been crowned best African footballer from Tony Yeboah to Aubameyang, Cameroonian striker Samuel Eto’s was the first player to be awarded on four occasions 2003,2004,2005 and 2010.

While Manchester City Midfielder Yaya Toure equal the record consecutively for four years in a row 2011-2014 only to come second to Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in 2015.

However, Super Eagles and Manchester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho might get an award in the Most Promising Talent category alongside with Naby Keita who ply his trade with German side RB Leipzig, DR Congo & TP Mazembe player Elia Meschak

Arsenal sensation Alex Iwobi is listed in the Youth Player of the Year category alongside two Ghanian players Sandra Owusu-Ansah who plays for Supreme Ladies and Eric Ayiah.
Player of the Year category

1.Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City

2.Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund

3.Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool).
Club of the Year

1.Zesco United
2.Mamelodi Sundowns
3.TP Mazembe
African-based Player of the Year
1. Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

2.Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe).

3.Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year

2.DR Congo

(Visited 48 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: