Connect with us


Mesut Ozil Becomes Second-Highest Paid EPL Player After Penning New Deal



Arsenal midfielder, Mesut Ozil, is currently the second-highest-paid player in the Premier League after he signed a new contract extension with North London club.

Ozil’s past contract was set to expire in June, but he has concurred terms on a three-and-a-half year deal worth £300,000 per-week.

Mesut Ozil finally decided on his future, both Arsenal and the player authoritatively affirmed today that Ozil will stay in North London for another 3 years.

It is believed the aspiration shown by the club in signing Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from Borussia Dortmund, and also a reputed £300,000 weekly wage helped Ozil to settle on his choice, instead of following Alexis Sanchez footstep.

With Sanchez gone it was generally expected that Ozil would leave, with Jose Mourinho never far away, having signed extend his contract he reportedly becomes the second-highest earning Premier League player- behind former team matesSanchez.

Arsenal fans will be justifiably soothed that their playmaker is staying put, and will now lick their lips at the possibility of him linking up with Aubameyang and Alexandre Lacazette. With two pacy strikers running the lines it will be hoped that with the steadiness of a new deal, Ozil can hit the form he did in his days at Real Madrid.

So far Ozil has shown up in 182 caps for Arsenal, with a return of 36 goals and 61 assists up until this point, helping them to lift the FA Cup 3 times since joining on Deadline Day in 2013.

Premier League Highest Earners

1. Alexis Sanchez (Manchester United) – £350,000
2. Mesut Ozil (Arsenal) – £300,000
3. Paul Pogba (Manchester United) – £290,000
4. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) – £280,000
5. Romelu Lukaku (Manchester United) – £250,000
6. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City) – £220,000
6. Yaya Toure (Manchester City) – £220,000
6. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United) – £220,000
9. David de Gea (Manchester United) – £200,000
9. Eden Hazard (Chelsea) – £200,000
11. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool) – £180,000
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal) – £180,000
13. Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal) – £170,000
14. David Silva (Manchester City) – £160,000
15. Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea) – £150,000
15. Alvaro Morata (Chelsea ) – £150,000
15. Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool/West Brom) – £150,000
18 Ross Barkley (Chelsea ) – £150,000
19 Juan Mata (Manchester United) – £145,000
20 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City) – £135,000

(Visited 71 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: