Luka Modric Snatch 2018 Ballon d’Or Award From The Grip Of Ronaldo & Messi – CheapGoals
Connect with us


Luka Modric Snatch 2018 Ballon d’Or Award From The Grip Of Ronaldo & Messi



Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric has beaten off competition from the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann and Lionel Messi to be named the winner of 2018’s Ballon d’Or.

The Los Blancos midfield maestro who won the Champions League title with Madrid and afterwards helped lead Croatia to the World Cup last has at long last put an end to Ronaldo-Messi time with the Croatian winning the 2018 Ballon d’Or award.

The 33-year-old is the first Croatian to win the Ballon d’Or; his countryman Davor Suker is the only other Croatian player to ever compete in the top three, in 1998.

Modric has likewise become the seventh player from Real Madrid to lift the trophy, breaking a tie with Barcelona players. (multiple winners, each club presently has won 11 awards in total, another record.) That may fill in as a touch of consolation in Madrid after a summer in which the club sold Ronaldo to Seria giants Juventus.

However, Modric’s exploits across the year – which included being awarded the Golden Ball at the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup – have seen him emerge ahead of the rest of the pack and become the first from his country to lift the award.

It’s a unique feeling,” he said as he accepted the award.

I’m happy, proud and it’s an honor. Extraordinary emotions at the moment.

I just want to thank all those who helped me to be here tonight. I thank my teammates, my coaches, for the staff and Real Madrid, all those who work there, the coaches and teammates in the national team, the ones who voted for me and my family, who allow me to blossom as a person.

Always have dreams, I wanted to play in a big club, win titles, the Ballon d’Or is all I could dream as a child, it’s an honor to win it tonight.

It’s a great pleasure to be here around his players. I keep thinking I’m trying to get used to being part of this group of exceptional players who have won the Ballon d’Or previously. It’s a great pleasure to be part of this group. It’s hard to say, throughout my career, I understood that work, persistence, believing in yourself, is the basis for expressing your talent. I like the phrase: the best is never easy. For me, it was not easy. It was necessary to seize the opportunities.


2nd: Cristiano Ronaldo

Real Madrid won the Champions League with the Portuguese finishing as the top scorer of the tournament with 15 goals.

3rd: Antoine Griezmann

Griezmann won the World Cup with France, finishing as the man of the match in the final and he also finishes as the Europa League’s best player with a brace in the final.

4th: Kylian Mbappe

France & PSG winger has already won the Kopa Award  If the 19-year-old continues to progress at the rate that he is, he may very well see himself win this award in the next couple of years. What a player!


Ada Hegerberg wins the first women’s Ballon d’Or!

5th: Leo Messi

No other player scored as many goals as Leo Messi in 2018, notching 43 goals in 45 matches, however, that won’t win his sixth Ballon d’Or award.

6th: Mohammed Salah

The ‘Egyptian Messi’ guided Liverpool to the Champions League final and Egypt to the World Cup

7th: Raphaël Varane

The highest finish for a defender, the Los Blancos centre-back won the Champions League with Real Madrid and the World Cup with France.

8th: Eden Hazard

Chelsea and Belgian playmaker had an impressive World Cup with Belgium and has been rumoured with a transfer to Real Madrid ever since.

9th: Kevin DeBruyne

The Manchester City and Belgian midfielder come in at 9.

10th: Harry Kane

The 10th position of the 2018 Golden Ball is for English forward Harry Kane

Mbappé wins Kopa Trophy!

Kylian Mbappé has won the newly created Kopa Trophy. The Kopa Trophy is an association football award presented to the best performing player under the age of 21.


11th: Kanté (Chelsea)
Chelsea and France’s N’Golo Kanté comes in at 11th. The 27-year-old played an instrumental part in Les Bleus’ triumph in Russia.

12th: Neymar (PSG)

Neymar, who PSG signed for £200m in 2017, finishes in 17th place.

Up next is the Uruguayan forward who helped Barcelona to win the league and Supercup in 2018.

13th: Luis Suarez (Barcelona)

Best goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois

14thThibaut Courtois (Real Madrid & Chelsea)

So, the Real Madrid goalkeeper has beaten Alisson, Oblak and Lloris and is the best goalkeeper in the world according to ‘France Football’.

15th: Paul Pogba (Manchester United)

Manchester United and France’s Paul Pogba comes in 15th place. The 25-year-old played in six of France’s World Cup games in Russia, inspiring ‘Les Bleus’ to victory over Croatia.

16th: Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

City’s all-time top goalscorer comes in at 16th after a brilliant season under Pep Guardiola. The Argentine was a threat throughout and scored 21 goals last season.

17th: Bale (Real Madrid and Benzema (Real Madrid)

A duo of Real Madrid players: Gareth Bale and Karim Benzema share a 17th place for the 2018 Ballon d’Or.

19th: Firmino, Rakitic and Ramos! 

Up next we have Firmino (Liverpool), Rakitic (Barcelona) and Ramos (Real Madrid).


22nd: Cavani (PSG), Mane (Liverpool) and Marcelo (Real Madrid)

25th: Alisson (Liverpool), Mandzukic (Juventus), Oblak (Atletico Madrid) 

28th: Godin (Atletico Madrid) 

29th: Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur) and Isco (Real Madrid) 



(Visited 388 times, 1 visits today)

Muyiwa is an ardent follower of everything football. Fascinated by the beauty of the game, he takes pleasure in penning down his opinion about a sport that has more lovers than haters. PS: He loves Barcelona for making football look easier than it actually is.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: