FIFA Best Awards: Luka Modric End’s Messi-Ronaldo Dominace To Clinch 2018 Best Player Award – CheapGoals
Connect with us


FIFA Best Awards: Luka Modric End’s Messi-Ronaldo Dominace To Clinch 2018 Best Player Award



Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric has finally broken Lionel Messi – Cristiano Ronaldo‘s 10 ten years dominace of individual football awards by claiming the award of The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2018.

The former Tottenham Hotspur player won with 29 percent of the votes, coming in ahead of Ronaldo (19 percent), Mohamed Salah (11.2 percent), Kylian Mbappe (10 percent) and Messi (9 percent), who along with Ronaldo skipped the ceremony.

It has been something exceptional to reprieve the dominance of Ronaldo and Lionel Messi at the apex of the men’s game, and the 33-year old midfielder’s season has without a doubt justified the historic point.

Awarded the adidas Golden Ball at the FIFA Club World Cup before taking another superlative stun a couple of months after he helped Real Madrid clinched an exceptional third back to back Champions League title against Liverpool. The Croatian was the metronomic lynchpin at the core of Madrid’s midfield all through the 2017/18 season

Little was anticipated from Croatia at the World Cup in 2018 World Cup in Russia, but captained by Modric’s scintillating performanace that progress the Croats to the shock surge to the final, only to be humbled by France.

The astounding playmaker beats off competition from Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah to win the prestigious award, with Messi not making the last three-man shortlist without precedent for a long time.

At last it was Modric’s superb World Cup perfomances against Ronaldo and Salah’s inability to have a genuine impact both in Russia and the Champions League final that influenced the award, which is voted in favor of by fans, national team coaches, journalist and team captains.

It was an unbelievable season, the best season in my life,” said Modric.

“I’m still not realising how good a year I had collectively, individually, and I’m very proud for everything I achieved this year and it will be remembered forever.”

“This award is not just mine. It is my teammates’ from Real Madrid and Croatia. Without my coaches, I would not have won this and without my family I would not be the player I am today.



BEST MEN COACH – Didier Deschamps

BEST WOMEN’S COACH – Reynald Pedros

Fifpro World XI

BEST GOALKEEPER – Thibaut Courtois

FAIR PLAY – Lennart Thy





(Visited 150 times, 1 visits today)

Muyiwa is an ardent follower of everything football. Fascinated by the beauty of the game, he takes pleasure in penning down his opinion about a sport that has more lovers than haters. PS: He loves Barcelona for making football look easier than it actually is.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: