Connect with us


FIFA Best Awards & Ballon D’Or : The Difference



The Best Fifa Football Awards which organized its second edition at the world-renowned London Palladium theatre on Monday is distinctive to the Ballon d’Or.

The version of the Ballon d’Or has been granted by France Football magazine since 1956. The Fifa World Player of the Year award was merged in a partnership with France Football’s Ballon d’Or in 2010 to end up plainly as the Fifa Ballon d’Or for the next six years.

In the former, there are 30 players who aspire to win the award, while FIFA’s prize only has 23 players on their list.

However, football world-governing bodies consented to pay £13million to combine the two awards, with Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo the enormous winners as the two La Liga stars ruled all through the six-year deal.

READ ALSO: Ronaldo vs Messi Over? Brace Up ! It’s Just Starting – Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA chose not to renew the deal in 2016, which means the Ballon d’Or lost its ‘Fifa’ tag and returned to being voted for by numerous journalist as a different award, and FIFA Best Awards was created.

And the FIFA Best Awards is plainly voted by National team managers, National team captains, selected journalists and for the first time, an online survey of fans, each representing 25% of the total in The Best Fifa Men’s Player.

Meanwhile, the Ballon d’Or winner will be announced towards the finish of the year.

(Visited 32 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: