Connect with us


Akwa United Are AITEO Cup Champions



Akwa United are the Champions of 2017 AITEO Cup (Federation Cup) in the wake of beating Niger Tornadoes 3-2 on penalties, the game finished goalless at the regulation time on a splendid and exciting evening at the Agege Soccer Stadium on Sunday.

The exciting Aiteo Cup final was watched by a sparkling array of prominent personalities, including Governors Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom) and Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger State), CAF President Ahmad, CAF Vice Presidents Kwesi Nyantakyi and Omari Selemani, CAF Emergency Committee individuals Souleman Waberi and Amaju Melvin Pinnick, Executive Committee members from NFF, AITEO sponsor, NFF Management, Members of the Lagos State Executive Council and member of the conciliatory group.

The game failed to provide the anticipated firecrackers of a cup final but Akwa United did what’s needed to claim the best prize. It was goalless all through the hour and a half and the game went straight to spot kicks.

Despite the fact that Niger Tornadoes had the high ground in the first set of kicks, they failed to nail the game and along these lines paid the consequences, Dadzie, Olisema and Okechukwu converted their kicks for Akwa to win the title.

Akwa United was handed N25m cash prize and a ticket to represent the Nation in the 2018 CAF Confederation Cup competition. Akwa United shot-stopper Olorunleke Ojo won both the Best Goalkeeper and Most Valuable Player awards.

Head coach Abdu Maikaba was awarded the Best Coach of the tournament while Akwa United striker Christian Pyagbara claim the Top Scorer’s award with his seven goals in the AITEO Cup tournament.

Niger Tornadoes, who eliminated defending champions, FC Ifeanyi Ubah, to make it to the Lagos final will get N10 million.


Akwa United:  Ojo Olorunleke, Ottobong Effiong, Kojodvi Dadzie, Afeez Aremu, Godspower Igudia, Emmanuel Ariwachukwu, Ubong Friday, Musa Newman, Christian Pyagbara, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and Cyril Olisema.

Niger Tornadoes: Mustapha Aliko, Reuben Ogbonnaya, Andrew Ikefe, Sunday Akinmoladun, Hussain Isah, Abdulkadir Zango, Musa Wakili, Bolaji Adeyemo, Ibrahim Babawo, Sani Rabiu, and Wilfred Ammeh

(Visited 27 times, 1 visits today)
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply




%d bloggers like this: